Back to Top



For more information on how to register and find your voting place visit the Shawnee County Election Office at

Find your Voting District here




August 1: Primary Election Day Polls Open: 7 a.m. Polls Close: 7 p.m.

Advance Voted Ballots Must be returned to the Election Office by 7 p.m. that day.


Elected Officials

All City of Topeka elected officials serve four-year terms, including the Mayor. Elections for City Council members are staggered, with five Council members elected at one time and four Council members elected two years later. There is no limit on the number of terms for elected officials. The annual salary for a member of the Council is $20,000 and the annual salary for Office of the Mayor is $40,000.

The Mayor is the chief elected officer of the city, responsible for providing leadership and taking issues to the people and marshaling public interest in and support for municipal activity. For more information on the responsibilities of the Mayor, visit the Mayor’s page or call 785-368-3895.


City of Topeka Primary Elections for Council Districts 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 9, and the mayor will take place on August 1, 2017, with the top two candidates in each District and Mayor competing in the November 7, 2017 General Election. Terms will begin the 2nd Monday in January following the November General Election.


Ballot Measures

There are no referendums proposed at this time.

Paid for By Duncan for Topeka
Bill Hill, Treasurer
Powered by - Political Campaign Websites